Cambrian News photographer - Striker Les Davies

ABERYSTWYTH Town have taken little time in boosting their ranks for next season with the addition of experienced striker Les Davies.

Cambrian News reported “Davies helped Bangor City to Welsh Premier League title glory in 2011, as well a hat-trick of Welsh Cup wins in 2008, 2019 and 2010 under former boss Nev Powell.

The 34 year-old has since played for Connah’s Quay, Bala and Llandudno and comes to Park Avenue with a record of 123 Welsh Premier goals from over 400 games.

Davies has also represented Wales at Under 18s and Under 21s level, has played for the semi-professional Under 23s team, and was even nominated for the UEFA Player of the Year award in 2012.

The Seasiders have also confirmed that seven players from last season’s squad have committed to remain at Park Avenue next season.

They include locals Geoff Kellaway and Mathew Jones, as well as Wes Baynes, Ryan Wollacott, Marc Williams and Paolo Mendes, whilst Welsh schoolboy international Lee Jenkins, from Aberaeron, remains on contract.

The future is also looking bright at Park Avenue after Bari Morgan’s talented Under-19s squad completed a terrific treble this season.

Having already clinched the Welsh Premier Development League (South) title, they went on to beat northern champions Cefn Druids 2-1 in the National Play-off Final, held in Newtown.

Skipper Tom Evans’ goal 15 minutes from time proved to be the difference, as Bari Morgan’s side claimed a second successive WPDL title.

Lee Jenkins’ header had put Aber in front 10 minutes before the break, but Lewis George had bundled home an equaliser for the Druids in the first half stoppage time.

The young Seasiders secured a third trophy on Friday when they beat Mid Wales Youth League champions Llanidloes Town 7-1 in the Central Wales FA Youth Cup Final at Machynlleth.

Liam Doherty and Iwan Lloyd both scored twice for Aber, along with further goals by Ethan Rodgers, Josh Crowl and Tomos Evans.

Aberystwyth Town Ladies have also won the South Wales Women’s League title, as well as the Central Wales Women’s Cup this season” here.