Cambrian News photographer - Penparcau receive new training tops from sponsor Steven Davies of S Davies Glazing, pictured with manager Darren Thomas and the team.

LIAM Jaques scored a hat-trick as Penparcau moved six points clear at the top of the Cambrian Tyres Aberystwyth and District League division one with an impressive 6-2 win over Tregaron Turfs.

Cambrian News reported “There were also goals from Andrew Gittins, Mark Evans and Ben Holt, on his debut, as Arky extended their lead over the second-placed Turfs, who had scored both their goals through Rhun Garner.

Talybont comfortably beat Aberystwyth University Reserves 4-2 to register their fourth league win of their campaign.

After having had two goals ruled out for offside, Talybont opened the scoring through Osian Thomas, and scored three times after the interval through Dylan Benjamin, Jamie Barron and Luke Davies. The students, who had restored parity at 1-1 at the interval, scored replies through own goal and Michael Cotter Jones.

Two goals from Harri Davies capped a 4-1 win for Dolgellau Reserves in their division two match with Padarn Reserves. Darryn Jones and Jasper Jones also found the net for Dolgellau, whilst Sam Mason netted for Padarn after a sublime assist by the evergreen Jason Boswell.

In the League Cup, Paul Keegan scored four goals as Padarn United registered a 7-2 win over Aberdyfi, with Steve Jones, Tegid Owen and Jason Davies also scoring. John Horton and Mike Rees replied.

Gwynfryn Hughes fired a hat-trick as Bont marched on into the second round of the competition with a 4-2 win over Llanon, with Cian Thomas also scoring.

Shaun Jones netted three goals as Bow Street Reserves marched on into the second round of the Cwpan Coffa Dai ‘Dynamo’ Davies with a 5-3 home win over Costcutter Ceredigion League side Bargod Rangers. Neil Davies and Osian Burrell also scored for the Magpies.

Elsewhere Aberaeron Reserves marched on with a 4-1 win over Penrhyncoch Reserves, and Felinfach were emphatic 14-1 winner over Machynlleth Reserves.

• The draw for the second round of the Emrys Morgan Cup is: Ffostrasol v Llanboidy; Llandysul v Lampeter Town; Trewern v Penparcau; Bow Street Reserves v Forden; Talybont v Four Crosses Reserves; Penybont v Tregaron; Meifod v Llanilar; Churchstoke Reserves v Llanfyllin; Brecon Northcote v Bishops Castle; Llanymynech v Llanfair Reserves; Talgarth v Guilsfield Res; Padarn v Cardigan; Crannog v Newcastle; Trefonen v Newcastle Emlyn; Aberaeron Reserves v St Dogmaels; Llanrhaeadr Reserves v Borth Res” here.

Leave a Reply