Cambrian News photographer - Senior winner Hefin Evans on the podium, with Ben Simmons and Ashley Fletcher.

THERE were some strong performances in the Welsh Criterium Championships,held as part of the successful Aber Cycle Fest.

The Cambrian News reported “Measuring just over 1km, the Aberystwyth criterium was run in a clockwise direction, circumnavigating the famous landmarks such as the Castle, War Memorial, Old College and Royal Pier, with the race start and finish being on Pier Street.

Whilst the professionals displayed their talents on Saturday evening, cyclists from as young as eight years old also had their chance to race from 9.30am, with various schools races, being followed the Welsh Circuit Race Championships for all ages.

This means that well over 500 cyclists were out racing around the streets of Aberystwyth as part of the proceedings.

In the Senior race, Hefin Evans of Bynea CC won in a time of 58:52, from Ben Simmons of Alé DMT Cipollini UK in 58:52 and Ashley Fletcher of BPF third in 58:52.

Ystwyth’s Cycling Club’s Kristian Bond carried local hopes by finishing in 59:47.

In the Junior Men, Jamie Crump of Successcycling.co.uk triumphed in 58:52, from Joseph Rees of Cardiff Ajax CC second in 58:52 and Owain Roberts of Team Backstedt/Hotchillee taking third in 58:52.

Jack Williams of Clwb Beicio Egni triumphed in the third and fourth category race in 36:26, from Joe Peatson of Ely Race Club second in 36:26 and Troy Fry of Bikestrong-Ktm in third place in 36:26.

Ystwyth Cycling Club’s Kristian Bond Ystwyth Cycling Club finished eighth in 36:26, with teammates Richard Eakins finishing 15th in 37:27, Ciaran Rowett 20th in 36:33 and Rhodri Jenkins 39th in 37:18.

In the Over 50s masters Dion Thomas of Bynea CC triumphed in 40:59, from Timothy Davies of Abergavenny CC in 40:59 and Courtney Rowe of Velowflow 42:00.

In the Over 40s Frazer White of Pontypool won in 39:27, from Glyndwr Griffiths of 73Degrees in 40:05,and Richard Harris of Cwmcarn Paragon CC in 40:05.

Local Wayne Maguire of Ystwyth Cycling Club finished eighth in 40:59.

The Women’s race was won by 2012 London Olympics Gold Medalist Danielle Rowe MBE of WaowDeals Pro Cycling in 41:18, from Bethany Taylor of Bianchi Dama second in 42:45 and Gwenno Hughes of Torelli-Brother third in 42:45.

Ystwyth CC’s Leah Brewer and Lois Brewer finished in 42:55, with teammate Anita Saycell Ystwyth CC home in 42:55.

In the Junior Women’s Race was won by Charlotte Mitchell of Newport Phoenix in 42:45, with Emily Larwood of The Racing Chance Foundation finishing in second place in 42:45 and Cadi Jones of Boompods EDCO NRG taking third place 44:59.

• The challenging Hill Climb saw riders take on the notorious 25 per cent Cefn Llan, with results as follows:

Junior Cup: 1st Owen Evans (Ystwyth); 2nd Sam Ryland (The Bulls). Junior Plate: 1st Endaf Williams (West Wales CRT); 2nd Dafydd Wright (West Wales CRT).

Senior Cup: 1st Callum Brown (Team B38/Underpin Racing); 2nd Kieran Wynne-Cattanach (Team B38/Underpin Racing); 3rd Callum Dixon (Go Below); 4th Stuart Jameson (Solihull). Senior Men’s Plate: 1st Dewi Hughes (Ystwyth); 2nd Dafydd Hughes (Egni); 3rd Mike Holwill (Hafren); 4th Richard Stoodley (3RT).

Women: 1st Joanne Jago (Performance Cycles); 2nd Anabell Orenz (North Cotswald CC); 3rd Sara Mela (Unattached)” here.

Leave a Reply